Introducing Betty (Definitely Forever)

I don’t even know how to start this post, because I have been so fucking fortunate for the series of events that led up to this point of me adopting my very own pup. It all started with Seymour, who was claimed by his actual owner. In the wake of all this, an insanely generous freelancer at my office (OK his name is Greg and even though he makes fun of Chicago all the time this redeems him) walked into the office the morning I lost Seymour and gave me money to adopt my own dog. I almost started crying all over again.

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been combing through the rescue agencies of Los Angeles, looking for the perfect pup. And I found her. This is Betty, a Chihuahua/Brussels Griffon mutt.

I adopted her from Tails of the City and all of the volunteers there could not be kinder or more awesome. Betty’s foster mom, Emily, was so sweet when I picked her up this morning, giving me a bag of toys that had become her favorite while at her place along with some treats and other goodies. She started tearing up, and I promised her I would take good care of Izzie (who I have now rechristened Betty. Trust me, it fits this girl.) I also promised her if I ever needed a babysitter for Betty, I would call her.

I spent all day Saturday playing with Betty, laughing as she and Pookie did some weird circling dance where they were both trying to sniff each others’ butts but were too afraid to commit, and crying a LOT. But like happy crying! Betty has quite a story — she was found living in a van with an animal hoarder who had found her on the street. She can still be a little skittish at points, so whenever I walk her, every now and then, she looks back, just to make sure I’m there.

I cried every damn time she did that yesterday.

If you are thinking about getting a dog, cat, parakeet, WHATEVER, I urge you to adopt. There are so many loving animals just waiting to make you cry tears of joy when you bring them home. Both Pooks and Betty are rescues, and even though I’ve only officially had Betty for roughly 24 hours, I can’t imagine my life without either of them.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Introducing Betty (Definitely Forever)

Leave a Reply

