Fresh Fridays: Feeling the Love Edition

I was thinking about this post a lot as my reading deprivation was lifted on Wednesday and I was allowed to read all of these blog posts with their viewpoints on Valentine’s Day. Some people love it, some people state the obvious about how it’s a commercialization and bastardization of what love should be, some people are completely indifferent to it, etc. So almost everything that can be said about this polarizing Hallmark holiday has been said.

Here’s my two cents, and I think it falls in line with how a lot of people feel about Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc. It’s just another day, but I do think it is a good reminder to bring a little love into your life. And I’m not strictly talking romantic, either. I came into work this morning a little frazzled and my coworker/photographer extraordinaire Attila handed me a box of chocolates with a stupid cute cat on it. My mom sent my siblings and I a group text this morning about how much she loves us.

Both of these things almost made me start crying.

OK, so I cry easily (A few weeks ago I started crying in the car while listening to Elton John’s “Your Song,” because it is so freakin’ beautiful), but I think the point is, if someone is important in your life, whether platonically or family-wise, or yes, even romantic, you should let them know. A lot. It is easy to fall into patterns and assume these people know how much you care about them, but do you notice how much your day brightens up when someone you care about says, “I’m proud of you!” or “I really appreciate you being in my life.” IT’S LIKE GETTING 50 LIKES ON A SELFIE CONFIDENCE-BOOST-WISE. And don’t forget that one of these people you have to tell you love them is YOU. Look into the mirror and tell yourself you love yourself over and over until you believe it. I am not asking you to reach Ghandi self-actualization levels, but give yourself some love today (and everyday), too. You deserve it.

In honor of this lovely Hallmark Holiday, I AM sporting a lot of pink and red. I feel like a Valentine’s Day mascot. And I feel pretty good about it.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Fresh Fridays: Feeling the Love Edition

Leave a Reply

