Little Tricks to Make Yourself Happy

Putting on lipstick can help, too.

If you’re not friends with me on Facebook, you haven’t learned the HORRIBLE NEWS that Seymour is no more. I found his owner on Friday, just as I was leaving for work. Don’t get me wrong, I was happy I found this pup’s original owner (and I may have lectured him a bit on putting a name tag on the dog and neutering him), but in the moment, I was ABSOLUTELY CRUSHED. I put on a brave face as Bernie’s owner Marcus thanked me for taking care of him and as soon as I was in the car on my way to work, I started sobbing.

Eventually, the day got better due to a few tricks and an amazing coworker of mine financing me adopting my own pup, so I was quickly distracted by the vast realm of possibilities of dogs to adopt. However, since I was/am on my reading deprivation (that I may have broken a little bit on Friday…IT WAS A TOUGH DAY), I had to find other ways to distract myself and pick up my spirits after what was, to me, a devastating blow. I had lots of plans for Seymour Bernie and those were lost in the blink of an eye.

So how do you cheer yourself up when you are at work/in a setting where you can’t just sob your eyes out for hours? Here’s what I did:

  • Sing. I sang (more like sang-cried) in the car ride on my way to work. Imagine someone sing-crying to Ke$ha’s “Timber”; that was me on Friday. But singing is actually really good for lifting your spirits – science says so! Singing releases endorphins, you know, those feel-good chemicals in your brain. When you hear others sing (and you are enjoying it), dopamine is released, increasing pleasure in ya brain and alertness. Singing also lowers cortisol, AKA the stress chemical. So take a couple minutes and creepily sing to yourself at your desk or as you are making someone’s coffee. If anyone looks at you weird, just start singing louder. I don’t know if that is scientifically proven to make anyone happier, but I know it makes me happier.
  •  Go for a quick, brisk walk. Again, science says exercise makes you happy. To quote Elle Woods from Legally Blond: “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people don’t shoot their husbands – they just don’t!” So walk your dog around the block, listen to that new song a couple times while walking, or just walk in silence – whatever floats your boat. I took several quick walks (more like paces in the back lot so I could still be near the office phone in case it rang), but it helped.
  • Talk about it.  By no means do you have to take an acquaintance coworker and walk them through each and every terrible detail of whatever it is that bothered you, but if you have someone you trust, go ahead and talk to them. Give yourself a time limit so you don’t get yourself all worked up reliving said event. If you don’t have anyone at work, excuse yourself for a few minutes and call your ma, best friend, significant other, whoever you trust and know will listen to you in your time of need.

The good news is, I am going to have a new pup to brag about that will FOR SURE be mine within the next week or two, so prepare for yet another onslaught of adorable animal photos. Do you have any tips or tricks for making yourself feel better when you are in a public setting? Let us know in the comments.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Little Tricks to Make Yourself Happy

  1. Great tips on beating the blues Maggie. Here’s a couple that have helped me a long the way:

    1. Exercise hard-not to the point of puking but enough to get you gasping for air. I always feel I can conquer the world when doing so.

    2. Whistle. I don’t have the voice to sing (may actually depress other people near by) so it’s a good option for me.

    3. Do something nice for someone else. There’s always someone worse off than you-help him or her out. You definitely feel better.

    Hope that helps,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

