Lovely Things: Self-Help Books

This is how I look when I read, too.

I asked Erin what I should write about for today and she said food (she was hungry) and then the mail was delivered to my office. I had completely forgotten that I went on a half.com binge the other day and another one of my books had come in the mail. I opened it up and texted Erin, telling her I was going to write about self help books.

“But like, not the sad ones.” I said.

I feel like self-help books get a bad rap. Whenever I am browsing the section in my favorite used bookstore I quickly move away if someone walks by. Single 24-year-old female looking through the self-help section? This bitch is probably gonna go to 7/11 and get some Ben & Jerry’s on the way home.

But guess what? I DIDN’T. And if I had who fucking cares? There is nothing wrong about self-help/spirituality books. In fact, I am now a proud advocate of them. I showed one of my coworkers one of my purchases and he was no where near as excited as I was. I feel like you, dear reader, will be excited though. Here are the books I have purchased and plan on devouring over the next few weeks.

The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron.

This is the book I am most excited about. I have read about it on several blogs and after making the decision that I want to be a Renaissance Woman, I ordered this book. The book is a 12-week course to unblocking your creativity. I have only read about the first 30 pages, but I am already REALLY INTO IT. You don’t need to be a writer to appreciate it; Cameron boasts that even lawyers (EW BORING) are helped with this course. In three months I will be a thousand times more creative than I already am, and you should be, too.

On Writing by Stephen King

This is the book I received in the mail today. I have only read a handful of King’s books, but this book is on every writer’s to-read list. The book is part memoir, part practical advice for writers, and all amazing, according to Amazon. Once I unleash all of my creativity with Cameron’s book, I am gonna get into this bad boy.

The Power of Intention by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer

OK, so MAYBE I watched The Secret on Netflix a month ago and I have really been into the Law of Attraction ever since. Even if you think it is a steaming load of bullshit, I think there are some things to take away from those who practice Law of Attraction techniques. For me, I have caught myself when I am thinking negatively just because it’s the habit I am used to and I take a breath and change it. (I’m not saying if something horrible happens to you you aren’t allowed to be angry or sad, I am saying little things.) Dr. Wayne W. Dyer views intention as an energy that is integral to our universe and as the first step towards action. UNIVERSE, MY INTENTION IS TO SLEEP WITH RYAN GOSLING. At least I put it out there. This book may get a little cerebral at points, but I am looking forward to it.

What are you reading right now? Any spiritual/self-help books that you would recommend?

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Lovely Things: Self-Help Books

Leave a Reply

