Mixtape: New Year, New Music Edition

OK, again, not a mixtape per se, but a small collection of music I have really been into as of late. I recently watched Marc Maron’s special Thinky Pain on Netflix and A.) it was hilarious and B.) it made me want to listen to a shitload of music. My future husband Maron was talking about vinyl collecting and different phases you go through with music and I thought to myself, “Shit, I have really let myself go music-wise.” In high school I was the girl who got NME (from the import section, OBVIOUSLY) almost weekly and always knew about that band “before they were big.” Arctic Monkeys? Saw them when I was 15 before they released Whatever You Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. I convinced my Dad to take me to an Arcade Fire concert just as Funeral had been released at the age of 16. Not to brag, BUT I WAS ON MY GAME.

I have fallen out of my music hunting practice and have been gorging on a lot of over-produced, bubbly pop, which there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with. Pop music is pop music and it’s great and catchy and sometimes problematic but mostly catchy and great for when you’re sitting in Los Angeles traffic. So, as a mini-resolution to myself, I have decided to actively seek out new music and go to smaller shows. I live in one of the coolest cities/sprawls/whatever you want to call it, there is no way I am not going to hear some stellar new music here.

Until I start going to these shows/my budget allows it, I will have to settle for searching the small corners of the Internet for new music. Here is what I have been bumping as of late.

purgatoryparadise

Throwing Muses – Purgatory/Paradise

Last month I bought my first issue of Bust (shameful, I know) and devoured it. I quickly subscribed to the magazine after reading all of their music reviews and falling in love with their highest recommendation, this gem. Throwing Muses formed in 1981 and HOW DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THEM UNTIL NOW? To me, this sounds like being in an angsty film like Ghost World or makes me want to be naked in bed reading poetry and smoking a cigarette…maybe that’s because this album was devised as a book as well as a record. I am terrible at describing this album, just know that I love it and you should listen to it, too. And get on all of their other records as well. Incredible.

Boards-of-Canada-Tomorrows-Harvest-1024x1024

Boards of Canada – Tomorrow’s Harvest

Do you like John Carpenter movies? Do you want your life to have a soundtrack as if you were living in a dystopian future? Have you dabbled with psychedelic drugs and wondered what reality even IS? Listen to Boards of Canada. My friend John is insane and every year he puts together a listen of a trillion albums that came out and does a write up on each of them. This was included. I had paid a little attention to this release earlier in the year, but forgot about it, which seems impossible now. Please, for the love of all things geeky and sci-fi related, listen to this album.

til infinityIYES – ‘Til Infinity

OK, so technically IYES has not released an entire album yet, but rather, a very well received single (this), several demos, and a KILLER cover of Beyonce’s “Crazy in Love.” ‘Til Infinity is full of exceedingly produced (but amazing) drumbeats, Melis Soyaslanova’s perfect-for-pop twee voice, and loads of other head-bobbing qualities. If you like AlunaGeorge, Lily Allen, or London Grammar, get on this.

 

 

 

 

What music have you been jammin’ to as of late? And, more importantly, what albums are you looking forward to being released? I need some cool friends to help me stay on top of the music game to get me back into my music snobbery prime.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Mixtape: New Year, New Music Edition

  1. You’re good. Going to check these out. Random bands I’ve been listening to of late to return the favor. With a warning that it’s eclectic:

    Rock(ish)
    1. The Donkeys (Bloodhound)
    2. Foals (Late Night)
    3. Any other band named after a horse-like creature.
    4. Foxygen
    5. Buke & Gase (Hiccup)
    6. Dropkick Murphys (Rose Tattoo. Irish punk)
    7. Dumpstaphunk

    Jazz(y)
    1. Kermit Ruffins (fun New Orleans)
    2. Snooks Eaglin (ditto)
    3. The Bad Plus
    4. Melody Gardot (sexy, french)

    R&B(y)
    1. Mavis Staples is awesome, and I am apparently only just finding this out.

    Country (More Austin than Nashville)
    1. Todd Snider (Beer Run)
    2. Ray Wylie Hubbard
    3. Hayes Carll
    4. Corb Lund (bible on the dash)

    Folky
    1. Dan Reeder (Work Song, Food & Pussy)
    2. The Blue Vipers of Brooklyn
    3. The Decembrists
    4. Eileen Jewell (High Shelf Booze). Kind of jazzy, kind of folky

Leave a Reply

