2014: The Year We All Kick Ass

WE CAN DO IT

Well, my first weekend of 2014 has been nothing short of thrilling, and when I say thrilling, I mean I spent a majority of the time mouth-breathing and popping Sudafed and Ricola because I got this cold from HELL. It was a blessing in disguise, however, becuase I got a LOT of writing done for an important screenwriting application with a looming deadline and was able to clean up my apartment for a fresh start in 2014.

Despite aforementioned illness, I am really feeling like 2014 is THE YEAR. I know a lot of people say this at the beginning of the new year, but I REALLY REALLY MEAN IT. According to life gurus/psychic people/me, 2013 was a year of transition. For a lot of people, it got really fucking rough at points. I can attest to that.

But I hope 2013 taught you as much as it taught me. It really lit a fire under my ass, and even a week into the new year, I am already seeing all of the efforts of last year taking effect. I have been invited to apply to a kickass writer’s workshop (and applying have I been!), fell into a good groove at my full time job, and learned to appreciate all the effort I put in. I feel like for a lot of writers, artists, freelancers, etc, it is hard to see the big picture when a majority of your work is done in your pajamas and your dishes are piling up and you don’t have a concrete little badge saying, “Hey! You accomplished this! Good job!” So you need to make an effort to realize all of the effort you are putting in.

So if you are feeling down on yourself, take a moment to reflect. Did you sit in front of a blank Final Draft document for an hour straight? Hey, at least you did that. Think of all the characters and writers and heroes you have romanticized – at one point, they had to do that, too. A lot of them probably had substance abuse issues, and I urge you not to lean in that direction, but everything else? The struggle, the creation, the self-worth fulfilled by doing so? FUCKING GO FOR IT.

This is our year, everyone. I feel it in my bones. What’s your big goal for 2014? Hell, what’s your small goal for today? I want to hear about it and tell you that you are going to accomplish it with flying fucking colors.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “2014: The Year We All Kick Ass

  1. I have some concrete visions I want to see IRL, but I guess my main goal is to be in the moment, and that means not talking myself out of being productive out of fear- and journaling more- and generally following my fun and creativity rather than self doubt =) But also, that means actively working towards goals and taking seemingly difficult steps, even when they don’t seem fun at first glance. With the right timing, I think hard steps are easier when pursuing a meaningful goal.

    • I dig that – I have to remind myself to be in the moment as well. I think having concrete, clear goals and envisioning what your life will be like once that goal is accomplished helps me take steps I know I need to take to make that goal a reality.

Leave a Reply

