Holidays without Borders

I’ve never been a huge fan of Thanksgiving.  What with its complicated genocidal history and odd personal family tensions, the only thing I’ve ever really enjoyed about it is the food.  I cannot deny the glory of a Thanksgiving Day meal.  But, as it stands, it’s just not my day.  So I decided to leave the country.  Now, the chain of cause and effect on this is debatable.  I’m not leaving because of the holiday, but it just worked out that way.  Rather, this summer I saved a butt ton of money and decided that in my young life I should spend it on visiting friends and family abroad.  Originally I was just going to go to Brussels to see my very very radical friend, Emily.  (She’s the lovely floating head over Belgium.)  But then I found out that Sergio, my friend I met while originally studying abroad in Florence, was studying in Paris.  And Brussels and Paris are like a hop, skip, and scenic train ride away.  So that was added to the itinerary.  And then my mind started running (not always a good thing, but a great thing) and realized how awesome it would be just to, ya know, stop by Italy while I was in the neighborhood.  I talked Sergio into the little nostalgia trip, and I’m really excited to go relive all the sites (aka pizzerias) and visit with an old professor and friend or two.  As an added plus, my cousin’s currently studying there!  She lives in Florida, and we rarely get to see each other in the states so…..this was kind of a gimmie.  Screen shot 2013-11-26 at 10.42.40 AM

Anyway, now that I’m done with finals (fiver papers and four tests, eat my shorts) I can finally focus on leaving for my trip…tomorrow.  Have I packed?  Nope.  Do I made an epic playlist for the flight from O’Hare to Copenhagen?  Jesus, not yet!  Thus, very behind.  But here is a little essentials list that I’ve at least gotten together so far:

  • 35mm camera + 4 rolls of film to take pictures of architecture and food
  • journal and 3 pens
  • a sturdy backpack
  • and at least 3 books by sentimental European writers.

What do you consider essential when going on a trip??

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Holidays without Borders

Leave a Reply

