The Fall Goalpost: 90 Pages in 30 Days

BlueCat GoalPost

Work has been a little crazy (in a good way!) and I have been having a hard time finding the time and energy to start writing a new screenplay that has been swimming around in my head for the past couple of weeks. If you are a writer of any kind (especially a screenwriter), I strongly suggest you keep up with The BlueCat Screenplay Competition’s website. Not only do they have an amazing contest, but they constantly post interviews with working writers, writing advice, and overall, is just a really awesome screenwriting community.

On Sunday, BlueCat started the Goalpost; from September 15th to October 15th, the goal is to write 90 pages, AKA a feature. What I love about this is for as much as you tell yourself you are going to write, there are always excuses. Being a part of a community like this holds you accountable for your writing. I am participating in this goal post and plan on having a lovely new first draft of a spec done on October 15th, or maybe even before.

All fellow writers, what are your tips to stay on track? Do you have anyone that holds you accountable?

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “The Fall Goalpost: 90 Pages in 30 Days

  1. My best tip to stay on track is to make procrastinating on the internet/anything else a reward for writing. After I finish a page, I let myself have 5-10 minutes of free time, but after that I go back to writing. Internet’s my biggest problem and this works surprisingly well. Also this is just me, but I find that having scene goals for the end of the day are better than page counts (as in I want to have 3-5 scenes written by the end of the day instead of however many pages). The changing nature of the scene lengths keeps things interesting and for whatever reason seems to work well for me.

Leave a Reply

