Eats and Reads: Wallace, Hemingway, and Some Good Cooking

Two things I’ve been doing a lot of lately–or at least attempting to do more of–are cook legitimate meals for myself and reading.  Well, reading I’ve been doing regardless, but with classes beginning for me I’ll be power-reading a bunch of novels, and short stories, and essays for a solid 3 hours a day.  Although I do not prefer reading and eating at the same time (those marinara smudges on those would-be pristine pages are eternal reminders of my sloppiness), I’ve recently been cooking and reading simultaneously to save some time.  After a few of these  eat/read endeavors I thought it would be fun to do a segment on the blog like this.  Instead of which wine to pair with your creamy pasta dish, it’s which literary gem to complement that chicken.  Still trying to come up with a better title than “Eats and Reads”, so if anyone has a suggestion let me know in the comments. Thanks!

 

IMG_4234

 

IMG_4235

Anyway, the first photo is from a night I spent week finishing up David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest.  The dish is pesto rotini with tofu cooked in olive oil and grape tomatoes and some pinot noir + espresso.  I’m sure the pasta wouldn’t be CT of deLint approved, but it must be better than Don Gately’s meatloaf.

The second one’s from last night: I’m reading Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises for my Modern American Fiction class, and made a Black Bean Sweet Potato Quinoa Salad with avocado, crushed red pepper, and garlic salt along with some Milk Oolong tea.  I contemplated some whisky but figured it’d be too cliché.

And in case you were wondering, yes, it is rather jarring reading Hemingway after working through the intricate, minute details of DFW’s writing for the past month and a half.  But it’s also kind of refreshing.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Eats and Reads: Wallace, Hemingway, and Some Good Cooking

Leave a Reply

