One of my Favorite Places: Brand Bookshop

One of my many friends named Paul has this thing against Glendale. It’s not that he doesn’t like it – he actively hates it. Being so close to Glendale, I have come to fight on its side and defend this bizarre pocket of the surrounding Los Angeles area. One of my favorite places in Glendale is Brand Bookshop, a kickass used bookstore that if I could I would live in.

Seriously, where can I set up camp?

Seriously, where can I set up camp?

I had a lot of trade in credit (you bring in old books, they give you credit that you can use on other books, it’s great.) AND they were having a Labor Day sale in which after trade off, you could get 25% off AND no tax, so you know I walked away with a buttload of books. I purchased seven books and only paid $16. SIXTEEN DOLLARS FOR SEVEN BOOKS IT’S AMAZING.

I just love the atmosphere of this place, too. The employees are helpful but not overzealous, and maybe it’s just the time I walk in, but they always seem to be playing Belle & Sebastian’s If You’re Feeling Sinister so I get all warm and fuzzy inside and feel super twee and smart and bookish and quickly grab as many books as I can afford.

I am still in the midst of David Foster Wallace’s mammoth Infinite Jest, but I am hoping I can start on this pile in the next week or so. I think I have to start with The Catcher in the Rye, seeing as the Salinger biopic is coming out soon (and maybe somehow I haven’t read it…). I’ve read The Sun Also Rises, but that was in high school and I wanted to revisit it, and the rest were recommendations from friends and such. Any tips on which book I should start with?

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “One of my Favorite Places: Brand Bookshop

Leave a Reply

