1 Year Anniversary…of Having My Cat

As any semi-frequent reader of Maggie and my blog can probably tell by the header of Chi La Buffs and any pictures that were taken within my apartment, I have a dear cat named Kiko Frances (KFC for short).  I found this neurotic, cuddly furball at an animal shelter in Des Moines last August when she was just 3 months old.  After a month or so she really warmed up to me and my laptop.  Whenever I would be writing a paper, browsing tumblr, or watching anything on Netflix, she would climb in my lap or on my shoulder and watch whatever I was doing, pawing at the screen.  Soon this turned into me taking Photobooth shots whenever she came by because she either looked adorable or completely evil.  So as a representation of our year together I pulled some of my favorites to share with any other potential budding cat ladies* that may read our blog.  Enjoy!

*Although I may not fully comprehend how a person can own 7+ cats and be a complete recluse and fulfill other crazy cat lady stereotypes, I think it’s unfair that people call a person who is really affectionate about his or her one or two felines a “cat lady”.  Living  with Kiko during a period of my life with many, many transitions, my cat has been the one consistent factor in my life even though she could go from cuddling with me to biting my ankles until I turned the laserpointer back on in a matter of minutes.  She’s a source of comfort and pride, so anyone who will make fun of me for making a big deal of living and caring of another living creature for a year I dare you to do it and not feel as obliged! 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “1 Year Anniversary…of Having My Cat

  1. Can a “dog guy” weigh in here? My dog’s not huge, an English Springer Spaniel, about 60 lbs. or so, but in the evening, if I’m spending too much time at my laptop at his expense. he’ll try climbing into my lap to shut me down. It’s impossible for me to get mad at him. I’ve had to close him out of the room on occasion to get stuff finished. Cats are pretty cool too.

  2. Pets are wonderful cats or dogs They work their way into your heart Be Happy and who cares what anyone thinks or says

Leave a Reply

