Honey Almond Milk Latte

A few times a year I suffer from “random” bouts of insomnia.  Whether it’s due to anticipation for the future, preoccupation for the past, or an unbalanced mixture of the two, who knows? Anyway, it’s been acting up again recently, this morning being particularly bad.  I attempted to go to sleep at 2am, only to be awake again by 4.  Was up until 7:30, and was graced with sleep until…8:30. Wow, great.

Obviously nights like this don’t just leave a human tired but also BORED.  In this span of time I finished This is How You Lose Her, listened to the entirety of In the Aeroplane Over the Sea, and tested out which types of crackers Kiko would eat (end results: she really digs Tomato Basil Wheat Thins).

STILL bored and even MORE exhausted with the thought of an 8 hour shift fast approaching I went to make myself some espresso.  But with some time on my hands and a recently stocked pantry I found a latte recipe that would get me amped.  I adapted my double (fine, triple) shot version from Livin Paleo Cuisine.  

You only need

  • a lot espresso
  • vanilla almond milk
  • honey (or sweetener of choice) 
  • and cinnamon, what have you

IMG_4024

If you’ve ever watched your barista make a latte before then you know the LD on how to assemble all this goodness, but just in case: brew the coffee, heat and whisk (or froth however you please) the almond milk and honey, pour the espresso OVER the milk.  That’s important, dudes.  Then add more honey and cinnamon to your sweet liking!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

