Adventures in San Francisco

A few months ago, Paul H bought tickets to The Postal Service reunion show up in Berkeley. It was before they announced their show here in LA, and we didn’t want to miss it. Paul, Charlotte, and I made the trek to and from SF all within 24 hours, and it was wonderful.

Considering we were only in the Bay area for less than a day, we sure did get a lot done. We went to Fisherman’s Wharf, went the tourist route and got some clam chowder from Boudin’s, visited too little of Chinatown, and, of course, went to Berkeley’s Greek theater to see The Postal Service.

Words cannot express how fucking awesome The Postal Service was. As I was watching, I was trying to think of a way to write about the experience, but how do you capture high school nostalgia and a new sort of refreshed euphoria all together? I couldn’t even properly emote during the show; most of the time I was squealing or not-so-secretly praying that Ben Gibbard and Jenny Lewis would just MAKE OUT ALREADY.

If I can say anything coherently about the show, it’s that it reminded me why I love live music. When I was in high school, I lived at small Chicago venues like the Metro, Schuba’s, Beat Kitchen, etc. I was that crazy girl that would line up two hours before doors opened, sans coat despite the November weather, wanting to be front and center for one of my hundreds of favorite bands. Not to sound like an old fart, but it was just about the music. Some kids would sneak in booze and shit, but that wasn’t my style. I wanted to remember everything perfectly. And that’s how this show was. Despite the cold weather (who knew the Greek was an outdoor venue? Not us.), the only thing I was focused on was the music. And Ben Gibbard’s butt.

But enough of me trying to piece together one of the best feelings of my young adult life. Onto what matters – photos. Feel free to share your favorite concert moments in the comments section.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Adventures in San Francisco

  1. My favorite concert experience was driving down to Chicago right after graduating high school to go see Jon Brion perform at Intonation. My brother and our best friend came with and we had never driven that far on our own before so already it was fairly exciting. Once we parked at the hotel, we decided to forgo getting a taxi in lieu of walking for an hour and a half to Union Park because we wanted to soak in as much of Chicago as possible. We then snaked our way to the front of the stage and stood through two bands until Jon finally came on AND IT WAS AMAZING. His sound-check was trying to jam with the other bands who were playing on the other stages, he’d invite musicians in the crowd to come on up, the crowd was fantastic, and he even kicked over an upright piano after his last solo. Getting our eardrums destroyed from standing so close to the stage was a fair price for getting to experience all of that.

Leave a Reply

