Nuart Theatre: The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Dr-Frank-N-Furter-the-rocky-horror-picture-show-25365753-1280-800

Alright, I am going to admit something: before Saturday night, I had never been to a live show of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. I KNOW! I am a terrible excuse of a film major. I had seen the film before, but never in a live setting. Our friend Josh was visiting from Chicago for the weekend and really wanted to do this, so we did.

I went in knowing a few things: there would be fishnets, toilet paper thrown, and anytime Brad Majors comes on screen you are supposed to yell “asshole!” What I didn’t know was that prior to the show, the cast and hardcore fans take all the “virgins” (IE, people like me who have not seen the show live), “deflower them” (see: form a giant circle around us and dry-humped us) and then they select a few lucky virgins to participate in a sort of scavenger hunt.

I was one of those lucky virgins.

And by “lucky,” I mean I asked a girl to take off her underwear for one portion of the scavenger hunt, I sucked/bit the shit out of my team member’s neck in order to give him the biggest hickey (sorry, Parker), and then, in a climatic ending to our deflowering/scavenger hunt, we had to make out with as many strangers as possible. When this was announced, me and the five other virgins kind of stood still for a moment but then the cast came up and cured any shyness we had.

All in all, an interesting Saturday night. The only photographic evidence I have of the night is this photo my friend Natalie took when I was trying to give my teammate the biggest hickey. I look like a hippy vampire.

Anybody else have some fun RHPS stories to tell? More importantly, this theatre, the Nuart, is playing motherfucking SPACE JAM this Friday…who’s coming with me?

neckin

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

