LA Weekend: Maggie Does Sports Edition

This weekend was the first weekend in a while where I didn’t have a guest in town. It was weird. It was also my first weekend back at my part time job running errands for an A-List screenwriter, so this was a very weird weekend. Luckily, I have a lot of dude friends who do dude things like go to Dodgers games and go golfing and invite me to tag along.

While I was running errands on Saturday, I got a text from my pal Paul Rowe asking if I wanted to go to a Dodgers game. Now, while I absolutely cannot stand watching baseball on TV, going to watch a game is a whole other experience. He had seats directly behind home plate from work and we watched the Dodgers pretty much annihilate the Marlins.

On Sunday, my pal Collin (who if you don’t remember, went to Dig For Gems with me) was all excited because he just got his clubs and wanted to go golfing. Now, golfing and I have a history. My father was hellbent on getting me to golf as a child because there aren’t many female golfers and he was thinking of scholarships. While I liked going to the driving range, golfing was never my thing. I tried (God love me) but it just didn’t stick. However, I couldn’t turn down a giddy Colin, so I agreed to go, warning him of how terrible I am.

So we get to this PUBLIC golf course, aren’t doing that well (I was just going to put infinity marks in each of the score boxes) and then some caddy master or whatever comes up to us and yells at us because we only have one set of clubs, which we were sharing. Apparently that is not allowed and they didn’t bother to tell us when we clearly had one set of clubs and were checking in for our tee time. They also said we were going to slow (which, for as rusty as we were – we weren’t. We even let a group pass us to be courteous.) And then they pretty much told us to leave. They refunded our money, thank God, but still very disappointing.

We made up for it by going to one of my new favorite spots, The Village Bakery and Cafe in Atwater Village. We got some delicious brunch and iced coffee and all was well. We didn’t want to golf, anyway. Jerks.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “LA Weekend: Maggie Does Sports Edition

  1. Sorry for the poor representation that place gave you of the golfing community. Next time you are in town, we’ll hit the range.

Leave a Reply

