Fresh Fridays: Purple Hippy Edition

When I was a child, I wanted to be a hippy because, in my head, they all had long hair, wore tye-dye, and rollerbladed all the time. Don’t ask me where the idea of hippies rollerblading came from, it just existed. I remember one birthday party I had as a kid had a very strict jeans and tye-dye dress code and we all, you guessed it, rollerbladed in my unfinished basment at the time. I remember someone falling and getting hurt, but I had a good time.

Seems like inspiration comes in waves, because I have started to return to my semi-wannabe-hippy roots. I am in the midst of starting up my own handmade candle company (more on that later, be excited), I have been putting honey on my face as a mask nightly, and drinking a buttload of tea. Oh, and wearing flowy dresses like this.

Photos, as always, by Attila Adam.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Fresh Fridays: Purple Hippy Edition

  1. Maggie, I was 18 in 1969. In my early teens, we all wore black leather jackets, listened to Motown and stood on street corners singing doo wop. Something happened in the late sixties. Something changed us. A huge change came for me the first time I heard Led Zeppelin’s “Whole Lotta Love.” It was the first Zep song I ever heard, and it blew me away. Hippie’s something that comes from inside. Of course Woodstock happened, and although I never went, a lot of my friends did. I live close enough to Woodstock now to pick up Woodstock radio loud and clear. We weren’t exactly flower children. I guess you can say we were hard rocking greaser/hippies. We went to a lot of concerts at the Capital theater in Portchester, New York. That theater has reopened, incidentally. I got to see Tull, Traffic, Chicago, Seals and Crofts, The Kinks, Grand Funk, Mott the Hoople, Ten Years After and more. I don’t live in the past. That’s why I like to talk to young people and listen to new things. As much as I like some of the old bands, I like hearing new music the most. If anything takes me back, it’s that feeling of hearing something for the first time and being blown away. I enjoy your blog very much. You and your sister take my head back to a good place.

    • Thank you for the kind words! I always love listening to both old and new things – definitely been listening to a lot of Zepplin, Patti Smith, and some newer California beach rock that I think is sort of revamping this idealism and lifestyle of the 60s. Glad you enjoy the blog so much!

  2. Pingback: Fresh Fridays: Thrifty Finds Edition | Chi LA Buffs

Leave a Reply

