Holy Guacamole: Guac with a Kick

Be the budding cat lady I am, I decided to throw my cat a birthday party. Now wait, it’s not as freakish as it sounds for two reasons: 1) Her birthday was May 1st. 2) Her name is Kiko.  As a result I could throw a punny party called “Kiko de Mayo.  See it’s not weird when you have that awesome of a term to use.  Anyway, for this celebration I knew I needed tequila and guacamole or my guests would feel misled.  I had never made guac before this so I went off of treehugger’s recipe but mixed it up a bit.  It turned out really well, I think! And spicy, which I love.  So if y’all love avocados and some heat (and who doesn’t?) try dis.

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe avocados
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/3 cup of chopped yellow onion
  • 1/4 of can of diced jalapenos, the spicy variation
  • a lot of crushed red pepper (I didn’t measure this, just shook vigorously for a solid 45 seconds.  Maybe about 1/2 a Tbsp? I don’t know, just do it to taste.)
  • 1 lime
  • a little bit of garlic salt

Okay, so mix the chopped onions, jalapenos, crushed red pepper, and garlic salt into a big bowl.  Squeeze the entire lime into the bowl until you get as much juice out of it as you can.  At this point I mushed all the ingredients together with the end of a wooden spoon so the flavors mixed a bit.  Chop up the avocados and throw them in with the mixture and again kinda mix/smush it all together with a fork.  Make sure to leave some chunks of avocado, though, because that’s the best part of eating guacamole!!  Mix the diced tomato evenly throughout the guac.  And then devour immediately.  Warning, you’ll need at least 3 bags of chips.  We ran out of them before the guacamole was finished and was, as you can imagine, quite devastating.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Holy Guacamole: Guac with a Kick

Leave a Reply

