STRFKR at the Metro

My latest obsession as of late has been STRFKR‘s Miracle Mile, which came out earlier in 2013.  And, of course, their rendition of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” will also remain one of the top 5 covers of all time.  Last night they played a sold out show at the Metro that Lizzie and I were lucky enough to buy our tickets early enough to check out (unlike the time we totally dropped the ball on getting Kishi Bashi tickets for Valentine’s Day show, which was like, “Thanks, now I feel enough more alone and rejected”).

Gahhhhh, they were so great. And I know I gush about every show I go to, but that’s just because I only go to fucking radical shows.  When I first got to the venue it was kind of a trip cos I hadn’t been there since high school and was half-expecting the Hush Sound jump on stage. (I saw them at least four times at the Metro between the age of 15 and 16.)  Anyway, the guys came on at about 10 or 10:15.  Throughout their set they built up the energy, starting with the just core front group jamming and spreading as the band progressed getting faster, more intensity, and crazier LED graphics in the background.  By the time they got to “While I’m Alive” and “Millions” everyone was groovin’.  And then, BAM, an explosion of balloons, creatures like Gumby and giant bunnies dancing around, and a giant panda giving an astronaut head. That’s interspecies and intergalactic love.

If you get a chance to see them, totally check it out.  Their voices sound great, the keyboards and drums and well everything sound fantastic (and not just because I’m used to hearing them on my crappy Mac speakers). And you get to DANCE and SWEAT and feel the glorious rush of ENDORPHINS. Oh, and they do play “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

