Art Nerd: Jean-Michel Basquiat: The Radiant Child

I finally decided to check out DePaul’s Art History Club last night where I was promised popcorn and art documentaries and discussion galore.  Even though we only got through about 20 minutes of this documentary on Jean-Michel Basquiat due to technical difficulties (art history nerds aren’t really technically savvy, I’ve learned), and I had to finish the rest at home, it is a beautifully done film.  It captures the undefinable energy, innovation, passion, and determination of this fantastic man.  It came out in 2009, but I had never seen it before.  It serves as a great reminder of why I want to be in this field, especially amidst the time when I’m bogged down by research papers, stressed to the point of paralysis. THANKS FOR KEEPING ME GOING, JEAN-MICHEL.

But seriously, if you haven’t seen it or don’t “get modern art” this would be awesome for anyone to check out.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

