Shaking off Winter, Diving into Spring

So. It’s reached that time of year in Chicago where it feels like spring should be here any day but really it’s erroneous to entertain such optimistic thoughts.  I would generalize and say the Midwest but I know places like Des Moines and Lawrence, KS are getting heaps of snow due to all my friends tweeting about classes being cancelled, jerks.  Anyway it’s the time when one day the sun creeps through the clouds, the wind is more of a breeze, and the air you breathe in is refreshing rather than suffocating…and then the next there is freezing rain, like today.  Boo.

And this Spring is going to be SO EXCITING for me that I just need it to get its ass here pronto.  I’ve got trips, shows, and weddings to get to so if March 22nd could get here as quickly and painlessly as possible that would be much appreciated.  And I feel that’s what every college student such as myself is thinking.

So to spite the most likely occurrence of Spring continuing to tease us while taking its damn time totally enveloping us in its sunshine and happiness I put together a little mix to keep spirits up.  Most of the artists I put on here have awesome new music out or on its way, are coming to Chicago in the near future, or just make me happy regardless if the sun is out or if I’m physically fighting against the wind on my way to class (and usually losing).

DSC_0619

  • You (Ha Ha Ha) – Charli XCX
  • Young Boys – Sin Fang
  • Is Your Love Big Enough? – Lianne La Havas
  • A New Life – Jim James
  • Falling – HAIM
  • I’m in Love – Wild Belle
  • Logan Square – The Changes
  • Open (Ryan Hemsworth Remix) – Rhye
  • Sacrilege – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • Say To You – STRFKR
  • Shake It Off – The Spinto Band

Get it here!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

