Housewarming parties always need Sangria

One of the greatest things about living alone is that I can have people over whenever I want.  One of the worst things about living alone is buying a handle of Gin and never being able to finish it by myself.  Because a handle of gin is hard to handle by one’s self.  So when I decided to finally christen my Chicago apartment by having some friends over I used it as outlet to rid myself the rest of that Seagrams that mocked me each time I opened the fridge.  The solution? Sangria!  Yeah guys, I found a lovely Sangria recipe that happened to call for a lot of citrus and a whole lot of gin.  The result is a delicious, sweet, refreshing beverage and drunk people dancing around my living room.  All I used is below:

  • ½ a grapefruit
  • 4 limes
  • 2 oranges
  • 1 huge jug of sangria
  • 1 liter of ginger ale
  • I’m not really how much gin ended up in there to be honest, but probably about a little less than a third of the handle.

Just pour the sangria and the juice from the limes and grapefruit and some of the oranges into a pitcher of sorts, and then slice and toss the rest of the fruit straight in.  Then pour, pour, pour, keep pouring, pour in the gin. Mix it up, taste it to make sure the gin doesn’t overpower the flavor of the wine.  Then once that’s all fine and dandy pour in the ginger ale to taste and refrigerate. Ta-dah!

Note: all of your guests will think it tastes soooo good and will want to drink it soooo fast that you should probably warn them of the copious amounts of gin involved, just in case.

Leave a Reply

