Official Launch of Chi LA Buffs!

You know that time in your life where you just moved somewhere new or just started something new or even contemplated the word “new” in that pretty little head of yours? That’s where we are. Maggie made the move from Chicago to Los Angeles a little over a year ago to chase her dreams of being a big wig movie-film writer and Erin just moved from Des Moines, Iowa to Chicago to continue her education at DePaul University.

As sisters, we try to stay in touch as much as our busy lives will allow us. This blog will chronicle each of the siblings’ adventures, discoveries, and writings while living in these two wonderful, often hectic cities. Here is a little more about us:

About Maggie:

Jack Kerouac, or some other beatnik that people from my generation often misquotes, said “LA is the loneliest and most brutal of American cities; New York gets god-awful cold in the winter, but there’s a feeling of wacky comradeship somewhere in the streets. LA is a jungle.”

In the past year that I have been here, I have experienced moments of suffocating loneliness, but I don’t think that is the defining trait of this sprawl of a city. There’s a hustle, a determination, a hardness that can be off-putting at first. There is no such thing as overnight sucess, and I feel like you cannot fully realize that until you live in the City of Angels.

Having just graduated from DePaul with nothing but six hundred bucks in my pocket and a borderline-delusional amount of optimism, I packed up all of my earthly belongings and headed West. I have had my fair share of hardships; I’ve worked four odd jobs at once, lost people in my life due to distance and the stress of building a career, and, on an almost daily basis, questioned my sanity. I’m using this blog as proof that I am a sane and somewhat well-adjusted semi-adult…

…Which my love of the UK series Skins totally negates, but like, whatever.

Maggie’s Digs

Pookscircle shelf

About Erin

At the ripe age of 21 there are two things I’ve come to accept about my
character: I am restless and hate being trapped by commitment. Maybe it’s simply
because of my age that I have these impulsive tendencies to keep on the move,
never getting settled anywhere, but for the sake of this blog let’s pretend that I am
somehow a unique case. Regardless of the level of peculiarity of my situation, this
restlessness has led me to uproot my studying out of good ol’ Des Moines, Iowa to
Italy and South Africa and to frolic about the Western Hemisphere that really have
no relation to my academic endeavors.

So after two and a half years I have finally been led back to the grand city
that’s been right in front of me the whole time. That’s right, y’all: Chicago. At this
point in my life then I am junior Art History and English double major at DePaul
University, living in Lincoln Park. Will this place stick? Or rather, will I stick around?
Let’s find out together! I mean, as a pizza aficionado Chicago’s the place to be in the
States; and the grunge of this place has always been alluring. But my quest’s to truly
know this city: to get it drunk off whisky until it shares all its secrets with me and
is whispering sweet nothings into my ear. Then we’ll make out in a dirty bathroom
stall at a blues bar, regretting nothing.

Also I love Buffy and Nutella.

Erin’s Digs:

Image

So there you have it! We will be posting things about each of our lovely cities along with some articles that we write for other online publications, music mixes, and tons of other fun and nifty stuff. Is there anything specific you would like to see from us (aside from us skyping with each other and our cats, obviously)? Anything you have been wanting to check out in either city but have been too afraid to? Let us know!

-Maggie and Erin. Sisters 4 Lyfe.

Leave a Reply

